The Day I Decided to Stop Making Excuses

January 30, 2014.

My husband and I were going out and I had nothing to wear.  No seriously, this was not one of those, “I already wore everything and I want a new outfit” kind of moments.  Nothing fit.  Not even my “go to” blue maxi dress.  I know what you are thinking. How can you NOT fit a maxi dress?!

I stepped onto my dusty scale and I knew it had to be wrong.  There was no way I gained 34lbs.  No way.  I weighed 150 lbs. I was a size 10 dammit!  I stepped on the scale again.  It still said 184.  I went through a range of emotions in my bathroom.  You would have thought someone died the way I was crying.  My poor confused husband just wanted to fix the problem so we could leave the house.  But you can’t fix Emotional Ashley without cheesecake and that is how I got into this current dilemma.

IMG_3069_fotorIMG_1411_Fotor_Collage_Ashley2

In 2012 and throughout most of 2013, I weighed 150 lbs.  By the beginning of 2014, I weighed 184 lbs.  This weight gain didn’t happen overnight so I shouldn’t have been shocked but there I was, in my underwear, balling my eyes out.  This was the day I realized I could no longer make excuses for not taking care of my body.  I needed to exercise.  I needed to give up my daily Haribo gummy bear and chocolate chip cookie addiction.  I could no longer eat pasta and fried chicken at 2 a.m. with my husband and I needed to drink water.  Lots of water.  Since I wanted to feel good naked I needed to start making some serious changes!!  I did.  I changed my diet, became more active and I am loving my progress so far!!!  The changes in my body motivate me to keep going.

IMG_0532_Fotor

IMG_2168_Fotor

IMG_3031_Fotor

 While I am only 9 months into my journey, I feel like a new person.  So far, I am down 24 lbs and  I am physically and mentally stronger than I was last year.  Be better than you were yesterday.

-XO

One thought on “The Day I Decided to Stop Making Excuses

Leave a Reply

